roomfullofwords

Book I Want: Hungry by Crystal Renn

In Uncategorized on June 22, 2010 at 3:10 pm

I’ve never read an autobiography or a biography in my whole life. At least, I don’t remember ever doing so. But here’s one that caught my eye. Well, the author, at least. Crystal Renn, the controversial plus-size model who went through dramatic changes for modeling, released her memoir called Hungry: A Young Model’s Story of Appetite, Ambition and the Ultimate Embrace of Curves mid last year. No clue as to how good or bad this is since I haven’t read the reviews but I’m curious.

The modeling industry has been under a lot of attack these past few years for encouraging already skinny girls to keep on being skinny until they find themselves saddled with all sorts of health issues. That is exactly what happened to Renn. At 14, she was told that she could land the pages of Vogue if only she could lose 9 or 1o inches off her hips. Her determination to shed all her weight nearly brought her to the brink of death and while she did land editorials, she was not as accomplished as she wanted to be. It was only when she decided to be true to herself and her body that she achieved great success. Hungry does seem to be an interesting read.  That and I can’t seem to take my eyes away from her gorgeous face and eyebrows (I have next to no eyebrows, you see).

Leave a Reply

