roomfullofwords

Enid Blyton (1897-1968)

In Uncategorized on June 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Enid Blyton was a British children’s book author best known for her series The Famous Five as well as a host of other titles. According to Wikipedia, she was “one of the most successful children’s storytellers of the twentieth century.” I couldn’t agree more. She did get me to read after all!

It was through her that I discovered pixies, elves, gnomes, wishing chairs and enchanted forests. It was through her books that I learned what adventure was all about (since I was never allowed out of the house). Some of my favorite Blyton books include The Famous Five, The Adventurous Four, Malory Towers and of course, The Magic Faraway Tree Series!

As a young child, I was completely fascinated with all of these books as I’m sure a lot of boys and girls out there were as well. I read them over and over and over again! In fact, a lot of my afternoons were spent lying on the bed and reading her books from cover to cover. Little did I know that Blyton’s storytelling was hardly welcomed at all by a few children’s books critics and UK media giant BBC. Apparently, they thought that Blyton churned out mediocre stories and some of her work allegedly contained racist and sexist remarks. New reprints are said to have been altered since.

I’m not sure whether our copies are the originals or the reprints but some of our (my siblings and myself) Enid Blyton books are still alive to this day. That’s saying something since most of them had been passed down to us by our mother! And I’m turning 24 this year!

Now I don’t know much about Blyton’s  “life and times” but I just recently discovered that BBC did a film about her life in 2009. I’d like to find myself a copy of that since it stars Helena Bonham Carter and Matthew Macfadyen. I also wish somebody would make a movie about The Magic Faraway Tree series. I’d love to see Jo, Bessie and Fanny; Moonface, Silky and dear old Saucepan Man come to life.

Leave a Reply

