roomfullofwords

The Amazing Kindle

In Uncategorized on June 23, 2010 at 7:24 pm

The Amazing Kindle

I love the world of print. I revel in the smell of old and musty books. I like it when the pages have turned crisp and yellow. And I would much rather read a real book than look at a screen. But I must admit that Amazon’s Kindle sounds interesting. First of all, it’s lighter than a paperback (or so the Web site says). Imagine how easier life would be if you didn’t have to carry all your favorite books when traveling! Especially if your favorites are all on the heavy side! And since it functions on 3G Wireless, that means you don’t need to look for a Wi-Fi spot or even a modem (well, some of us still live in 1999) because you can automatically download your books from wherever you are. The signal is worldwide but you have to check the Web site to see whether your country or city has strong signals or not. Luckily for me, my city is covered.

Now, I know it sounds like I’m championing the Kindle but I can’t help it. I’m not a big fan of gadgets but I love it when I spot something easy to work with (or at least, something that seems easy since I know of no one who has one). I love that the Kindle doesn’t produce glares, not even when you’re outdoors with the sun shining down on you.

The downside of the Kindle, however, is that reading books might feel a little less personal. I really like holding on to something and turning the pages by myself. I like how different books use different kinds of paper, too. Besides, you wouldn’t be able to lend your books out to friends anymore. I don’t know about you but if I had a Kindle, I wouldn’t lend it to my friends!

The real upside of the Kindle though is that it might get my boyfriend to read more!

Photo via Amazon

Leave a Reply

