roomfullofwords

Book I Want: Off the Tourist Trail

In Uncategorized on July 16, 2010 at 11:47 pm

via Amazon

Travel has been on my mind these days. And while I don’t have the means to go off on an adventure on my own at the moment (I’m still largely dependent on my parents), it hasn’t stopped me from daydreaming. Lately, I’ve been dreaming about Greece. Yes, Greece. I know I’ll get a chance to visit it one day (hopefully in the next few years) but for now, I’m willing to learn all I can about the islands and read about other people’s experiences.

In the middle of my research,  I stumbled upon a book that any avid traveler would love to get his hands on. The book is called Off the Tourist Trail and it gives you 1,000 unexpected tourist destinations. What’s even better is that the book has also listed 100 of the most cliche destinations along with a list of alternative choices. For example, instead of the Niagra Falls, why don’t you visit the Iguazu (Iguassu, Iguaçu) Falls? If you’re like me who has no clue what these falls look like, here’s a picture:

via Wikipedia

Another example is of other cities that are said to “rival Prague.” The image below is of that very page in the book. It might be a little hard to read so you can just click on the DK link to see the image better.

via DK

The book reviews are also fairly positive and while Off the Tourist Trail isn’t a specific travel guide, it does– as one reviewer said– expand your world view.

It seems that I’ll never run out of books to lust after. But I guess that just makes everyone’s Christmas shopping easier. Friends and family, you will never have a hard time thinking of what to give me because I’m broadcasting it here! I found this book on our local bookstore and ouch it’s going to cost me more than it will cost me for the Domino: Book of Decorating! But that is the price I have to pay. Or not, depending on how generous people can be.

Leave a Reply

