roomfullofwords

Reading France

In Uncategorized on July 19, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Reading novels with French settings is fascinating but also quite challenging. I’m unfamiliar with many of the places and the only I thing I can count on is the writer’s description and my own imagination. Sometimes, however, they aren’t enough. I want to see what these places actually look like. What kind of walls is this building made of? What kind of floors? How wide are the roads? That sort of thing. Therefore, my reading of Kate Mosse’s Sepulchre might take me a while. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not exactly going to look up every unfamiliar setting online but I will stop and research every now and then.

Right now, I’m looking at the Rennes le Chateau which almost always seems to be the center of controversy at one point in history or another.

via Wikimedia

  1. I understand what you mean. I finished reading a book set in Sweden and England and it had very little description about the places.

  2. Reading blogs about these places also helps a lot. 🙂 But wouldn’t it be nice to actually visit those places? What book were you reading anyway, if I may ask?

Leave a Reply

