roomfullofwords

Reading Through

In Uncategorized on July 31, 2010 at 4:18 pm

I know it’s been a while since my last update but I’ve been having a difficult time finishing my latest book. I’ve encountered this sort of obstacle before, particularly with Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist. As thin as his book is, would you believe that it took me years to actually get through the whole thing? Laugh if you must. Raise your eyebrows, too, if you can. But I’ll always remember The Alchemist for that! There is an explanation, of course. One other than I am a really, really slow reader.

Books that I fail to finish in one sitting– either because I get sleepy or because I’ve been called away to something else– those are the books that take me longer to read. In the case of The Alchemist, I had been somewhere in the middle of the book (the first time was when the shepherd had just acquired his magic stones) when I became distracted (though I can’t remember by what). It took me months before I had the chance to read it again. And when I picked it up, I had to read the whole thing from the beginning (because I wanted to reacquaint myself with the shepherd). But as expected from the pattern, something once again happened that kept me from finishing the book. I did manage to finish it one day. In one sitting.

With Kate Mosse’s Sepulchre, I’ve been reading parts throughout the week. I am almost at its end and I hope that nothing keeps me away from it too long. Apart from having to put down the book because I have something to do or because I want to do something else, another reason why I have such a difficult time pushing through with the story is because there are painful parts in the book– parts that as you go on you can already expect. It’s the feeling when you know something bad is going to happen and you can’t do a damn thing to stop it. Or when you know how stupid a character is being and you just want to delay reading about the wrong judgment call you just know he or she will make.

I’ve gotten past those chapters just now. It’s painful, I tell ya! The mystery is not yet over but I feel like I’m at least through the worst. 🙂 You’ll see my review of Sepulchre next week.

  1. Hi, as a fellow books blogger I have encountered this phenomenon before too! Usually though i regard this as a sign of a bad book..

    • Too true, too true! 🙂 But I also believe in the benefit of the doubt. I must admit that I am sometimes too tired to actually read or too distracted. I’m easily distracted. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

