roomfullofwords

Writing About Bloody Stools

In Uncategorized on September 1, 2010 at 10:00 am

Some days I like my job, some days I don’t.

But as some members of my family wonder, what the hell is my job?

I’m a freelance writer. I write for different organizations and publications. A few months ago, I was employed in a small marketing/events company. When it became apparent that my “career” wasn’t going to go anywhere with them, I jumped ship even though I knew I was risking it all. I got accepted as a film archivist in a giant TV network but turned that down to for the opportunity to work for one of the largest magazine publishers in the country.

How did that go? Not very well. I ended up writing for their Web site instead. It’s not as stable as what I would have wanted but at least my articles are being read. I also regularly contribute to an online news magazine though I mostly fill the Web site’s Culture section. I had a short writing gig with a travel magazine before but soon got frustrated because of the company’s very slow payment system.

And of course, there’s the most regular of all my writing gigs. Ghostwriting for ahem ahem and writing about anything he wants me to write about. It’s mostly articles on self-improvement but I just had to laugh out loud when I saw my next assignment. Yes, I’m going to write about bloody stools. There’s nothing funny about the condition itself as I will no doubt learn later in detail when I do my research but I can’t help wondering about the range of topics I write about sometimes.

Bloody stools, indeed.

Leave a Reply

