roomfullofwords

Starting Her Own Book Collection

In Uncategorized on September 2, 2010 at 10:00 am

There was a book fair at my little sister’s school the other day and with the money she saved up, she bought this. Isn’t the cover amazing? Don’t be fooled though. It’s a modern print– 2008 if I remember correctly. I’ve only skimmed through the pages but it appears to emulate  its big sister versions: How to Walk in High Heels, How to be a Hepburn in a Hilton World, etc.

The inside pages are not as glamorous though since there are no pretty colors. There are a few illustrations here and there but for an 11-year-old, it’s not too bad at all.

I have reason to believe that perusing through my older sister’s The One Hundred by Nina Garcia days before the fair might have influenced her decision.

My little sister also bought a paperback copy of The Secret Garden (where does she get the money?) and I’m glad that she’s getting into reading. One of my little brothers, on the other hand, didn’t even have a clue that there was a book fair at school. But he’s a Math genius (and yes, he really is) so I guess it’s okay if he doesn’t take reading to heart. I wonder how he’ll react if I gave him a piece of literary fiction for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

