The Dragon Reborn by Robert Jordan

In Uncategorized on September 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

via AudioBooksOnline

I have finally finished reading The Dragon Reborn– third in The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. If you haven’t read any of these books, then you’re missing out on an epic adventure. I suppose I have to give a quick overview of the story so you’d be able to appreciate this entry. Mind you, my memory might be a bit altered so you should still pick the first two books up before jumping into the third.

The first book– The Eye of the World– plucks Rand Al’Thor, Perrin Aybara and Mat Cauthon out of their quiet lives in Emond’s Field. Moiraine, an Aes Sedai (women who can channel the One Power), and her Warder Lan quickly learn that these boys are Ta’veren, meaning that the Wheel of Time weaves its patterns around them. One of them could possibly be The Dragon Reborn although the other two left are certainly no small fish. An attack on the village more or less confirms it and Moiraine takes them away with her seeing as they are no longer safe where they are. Two girls– Egwene and Nynaeve– stubbornly go after the group and realize their own growing abilities along the way.

Past the first book to The Great Hunt, all three boys dream about the Dark One. It scares them out of their wits, of course, but they try their best to fight against him. Somewhere along the journey, Mat becomes tainted by a dagger, Perrin becomes one with a wolf pack and Rand faces the possibility that his father might not be his real father. Oh, and he discovers he can actually channel the One Power, making him The Dragon Reborn. Egwene and Nynaeve become Aes Sedai-in-training but find themselves dealing with the Black Ajah (Aes Sedai sisters who have betrayed the light) and sold as slaves. The Horn of Valere is sounded and the Dragon Reborn finds himself with an army of supporters.

It’s a long, long journey for everybody– full of triumphs and defeats. Along the way, they meet more Aes Sedai, an Ogier, a Daughter-Heir, Aiel Warriors, Whitecloaks and of course, Darkfriends.

The third book starts out with a peek into the Whitecloaks camp. While said to be Defenders of the Light, the Whitecloaks are actually more sinister than that. They believe too much in their own righteousness, more willing to let innocents suffer than to let suspected Darkfriends free. They are suspicious of everything and yet within their ranks are foul servants of the Dark One. Think of them as the Spanish Inquisition. Pedron Niall, leader of the Whitecloaks, has his own agenda. He wants all of the world to know his name and so he allows Rand to roam free until the time comes for him to strike. But he is a fool for there are larger forces at work– forces that would crush his ambitions all too easily.

Apart from the first few chapters, there is not a lot of Whitecloak participation throughout the book. It’s actually a very good thing because I don’t like reading about these men and the way they see the world in black and white.

Anyway, by this time, Rand Al’Thor has been proclaimed The Dragon Reborn though he has yet to come to terms with it. Perrin himself has trouble accepting his link with the wolves and Min’s vision of a Falcon and a beautiful woman isn’t helping matters either. Egwene, Nynaeve and Elayne (Daughter-Heir of Andor) have reached Tar Valon at last with Mat in tow but it isn’t long before they must leave the White Tower again on a mission for the Amyrlin Seat herself. The danger is greater than ever as some of the Forsaken (the Dark One’s Generals if you will) have been freed from their bindings.

This is a pretty exciting part of The Wheel of Time as everybody is more or less gathered together again. It just keeps getting better and better. Books in The Wheel of Time series are not meant to be plowed through. There are too many details to take in and you’ve got to thank Jordan for that glossary he puts at the end of every book. His characterization is also something to be admired. Nobody is perfect here. All of them possess all too-true annoying habits at times but every one of them grows with each chapter. There is not a lot of romance either but there are hints of it here and there– not enough to take over the story and just about enough to be realistic. The Dragon Reborn is just part three of the battle against the Dark One. I can’t even imagine what the other eight books have to offer.

The next part is called The Shadow Rising. I can’t wait to read that one!

P.S. I am doubly excited to learn that The Wheel of Time audio books exist!!!

  1. This is one of my fav fantasy series. I’ve finished up to Book 12 and can’t wait for the rest of the books in the series. #13 is due later this year…

    • I stumbled upon this series a bit late–just last year– so I’m more than a little behind. I was rather surprised to read your comment because I thought there were only eleven books. To learn that there are epilogues to the series is quite exciting!

  2. Oh, yeah… I’m quite excited. Although books 12 onwards have been completed by Brandon Sanderson, I’m still loving the worlds and characters that Jordan created.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: